in ,

ABS-CBN recognized as ‘Best TV Station’ in the Philippines

Quezon City, Philippines (November 11, 2016) – ABS-CBN, the country’s leading entertainment and media company was recently honored as the Best TV Station at the 2016 Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for TV and Music, making it the company’s eighth consecutive win since 2009.


The PMPC Star Awards is an annual award giving body that recognizes outstanding actors, musical artists, and programming.

Aside from the network’s recognition, the Kapamilya network also topped the awards night as its roster of programs and artists were recognized across categories in both TV and Music.

“FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano” was hailed as the Best Primetime Drama Series with Coco Martin as this year’s Best Drama Actor. Child actors McNeal Briguela and Simon Pineda, who play Makmak and Onyok in the hit teleserye, were also named as Best Child Performer and Best New Male TV Personality, respectively.

The Julia Montes starrer “Doble Kara” bagged the Best Daytime Drama Series award. While actors Arjo Atayde and Aaron Villaflor were both recognized as Best Drama Supporting Actor for their work in “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano” and “All of Me,” respectively.

Luis Manzano was one of the most awarded stars of the night as he garnered the awards for Best Male TV Host, Best Game Show Host for “Kapamilya Deal or No Deal,” and Best Talent Search Show Host. He shares the Best Talent Search Host award with Robi Domingo and Kim Chiu for “The Voice Kids 3.”

Other Kapamilya big winners were Kim Chiu and Xian Lim who bagged the German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year; Anne Curtis named Best Female TV Host for “It’s Showtime”; Boy Abunda was named Best Celebrity Talk Show Host for “Tonight With Boy Abunda” and Best Public Affairs Program Host for “The Bottomline”; Best New Female TV Personality is Ria Atayde; the Sunday variety show “ASAP” bagged the Best Musical Variety Show; “Goin’ Bulilit” for Best Gag Show; “Tonight with Boy Abunda” is Best Celebrity Talk Show; “Ipaglaban Mo” for Best Drama Anthology and “RX Plus” for Best Lifestyle Show.

ABS-CBN’s news and current affairs arm also bagged awards including Best News Program for “TV Patrol”; the Best Documentary Special went to “Politika at Pamilya, Sila Noon, Sila Pa Rin Ngayon”; Best Magazine Show for “Rated K;”; Best Educational TV Program for “Matanglawin;” and Best Public Affairs Program for “Bottomline.”

Other Kapamilya news and current affairs personalities were also recognized namely Korina Sanchez as Best Magazine Show Host for “Rated K;” Julius Babao as Best Public Service Program Host; Kim Atienza as Best Educational Program Host for “Matanglawin;” lastly, Anthony Taberna, Jorge Carino, Atom Araullo, Amy Perez, Winnie Cordero, Ariel Ureta, and Gretchen Ho as Best Morning Show Hosts for “Umagang Kay Ganda.”

The Kapamilya talents also stood out at the PMPC Star Awards for Music. Jed Madela was named Best Male Recording Artist of the Year, while opposite him is Jolina Magdangal who was hailed as Best Female Recording Artist of the Year. Marion Aunor bagged the Best Female Pop Artist of the Year, Janella Salvador for Best New Female Recording Artist of the Year, all-male group Hashtags bags the Best Dance Album of the Year, while the Best Music Video of the Year went to Vice Ganda and Edward Benossa.

Special awards were also bagged by Kapamilya stars with Arjo and Ria Atayde recognized as Male and Female Star of the Night for PMPC Star Awards for Music, while Luis Manzano and Yassi Pressman were hailed as Male and Female Star of the Night for PMPC Star Awards for TV.

Catch Kapamilya network’s shows and artists’ award-winning performances via TFC, and TFC IPTV. Watch “RX Plus” via ABS-CBN Sports + Action (S+A) and see Benossa via Star Music channel on youtube. Get updates about your favorite show through the TFC Facebook fan page applicable for your area. Connect with fellow global Kapamilya by following @KapamiyaTFC in Instagram and Twitter.


“Encantadia” cast takes the ‘Mannequin Challenge’

Ejay Falcon, Ritz Azul team up for the first time in “Maalaala Mo Kaya”