in , ,

ABC5 to GMA Network to ABS-CBN: ‘Idol’ franchise has rounded up three networks

  • ‘Idol’ franchise in the Philippines had rounded up three networks
  • From ‘Philippine Idol,’ to ‘Pinoy Idol,’ and now ‘Idol Philippines’
  • 2006: Philippine Idol was judged by Ryan Cayabyab, Pilita Corales, and Francis Magalona
  • 2008: Pinoy Idol was judged by Ogie Alcasid, Jolina Magdangal, and Wyngard Tracy
  • 2019: Idol Philippines will be judges by Vice Ganda, Regine Velasquez, Moira dela Torre, and James Reid

The ‘Idol’ franchise in the Philippines was first awarded by Fremantle Media, 19 Entertainment, and CKX Inc. to ABC Development Corporation (Now: TV5) in 2006, it was titled ‘Philippine Idol,’ the sixth local adaptation in Asia and 35th in the world.

Ryan Cayabyab, Pilita Corales and Francis Magalona

Hosted by Ryan Agoncillo, the panel of judges are the musical composer, Ryan Cayabyab; Asia’s Queen of Songs, Pilita Corales and the rapper/ producer, Francis Magalona. Cayabyab was chosen by the program’s producers, the other three (Agoncillo, Corrales and Magalona) auditioned to be part of the program, and the actress, Heart Evangelista hosted the daily updates program.

According to the sources, due to low results on the advertising revenue, ABC5 had incurred large losses in mounting the first season. Although it was announced that ABC5 would produce the second season, the Network did not pursue it.

Ogie Alcasid, Jolina Magdangal and Wyngard Tracy

Fremantle Media has announced that that the franchise has been given to GMA Network, on September 16, 2007 and titled it ‘Pinoy Idol.’ Geraldine Bravo, FremantleMedia representative said that it was “very fortunate” to find a new partner. According to the reports, GMA Network wanted to completely reset the show disregarding the ABC5’s first season.

‘Pinoy Idol’ was hosted by Raymond Gutierrez, with the singer, songwriter, and record producer; Ogie Alcasid , singer-actress, Jolina Magdangal; and retired talent manager, Wyngard Tracy as the judges. The show has a total of 37 episodes which premiered on April 4, 2008 and concluded on August 17, 2008.

Vice Ganda, Regine Velasquez, Moira dela Torre and James Reid

Fremantle (formerly FremantleMedia) and 19 Entertainment, the co-owner of the format, announced on October 17, 2018 that the ‘Idol’ franchise in the Philippines has been given to ABS-CBN. In November 2018, Billy Crawford confirmed that he’s hosting the said show as part of the renewal of his contract in ABS-CBN.

READ: ABS-CBN reveals ‘Idol Philippines’ judges; receives mixed reactions

As Regine Velasquez-Alcasid transferred to ABS-CBN and signed an exclusive contract, she revealed that part of her contract was to be one of the judges of the said franchise. In February 26, 2019 the the other three judges who will join Regine was revealed in ‘TV Patrol.’ Together with her are James Reid, Moira Dela Torre and Vice Ganda.

According to the sources, Vice is the only judge handpicked by Fremantle. He is also experienced in judging two seasons of ‘Pilipinas Got Talent’ and a season of ‘Pinoy Boyband Superstar,’ which are two of the international franchise acquired by ABS-CBN.


Written by JC Salud

JC Salud, is a straight forward person. He finds freedom, expressing himself through writing. As a writer he believes that there should be not just a story but a truth in every article that he shared.

GMA Network’s original TV series, ‘Dragon Lady,’ an intriguing tale of luck and love

Maja Salvador breaks her own rules and thinks “it’s worth it!”