in , , ,

Netizens slam 70 congressmen who voted against ABS-CBN

70 congressmen voted Yes to the Committee on Legislative Franchises TWG report denying ABS-CBN’s franchise application.

Netizens are furious with the 70 Congressmen who voted to kill the ABS-CBN franchise application.

On Friday, July 10, the Congress denied ABS-CBN franchise application with finality.

70 congressmen voted Yes to the Committee on Legislative Franchises TWG report denying ABS-CBN’s franchise application.

1. Rep. Abraham Tolentino
2. Rep. Atonio Albano
3. Rep. Faustino Michael Dy
4. Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado
5. Rep. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
6. Rep. Faustino Dy V
7. Rep. Dale Malapitan
8. Rep. Eric Martinez
9. Rep. Divina Grace Yu
10. Rep. Julienne Baronda
11. Rep. Anthony Peter Crisologo
12. Rep. Luis Ferrer IV
13. Rep. John Marvin Nieto
14. Rep. Strike Revilla
15. Rep. Samantha Louise Alfonso
16. Rep. Rolando Valeriano
17. Rep. Joaquin Chipeco Jr.
18. Rep. Eduardo Gullas
19. Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona
20. Rep. Frederick Siao
21. Rep. Ian Paul Dy
22. Rep. Gil Acosta
23. Rep. Weslie Gatchalian
24. Rep. Prescious H. Castelo
25. Rep. Alyssa Sheena Tan
26. Rep. Christian Unabia
27. Rep. Raymond Mendoza
28. Rep. Jericho Nograles
29. Rep. Yedda Romualdez
30. Rep. Eric Yap
31. Rep. Claudine Bautista
32. Rep. Esmael Mangudadatu
33. Rep. Enrico Pineda
34. Rep. Dulce Ann Hofer
35. Rep. Sharon Garin
36. Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr.
37. Rep. Janette Garin
38. Rep. Paulo Duterte
39. Rep. J. F. Nograles (F. Hernandez)
40. Rep. Conrado III Estrella
41. Rep. Sandro Gonzales (Rep. P. Pichay)
42. Rep. Mike Defensor (Rep. R. Puno)
43. Rep. Allan Ty (Rep. A. Gonzales)
44. Rep. F. Matugas (Rep. J. Pimentel)
45. Rep. Luis Villafuerte Jr.
46. Rep. Raneo Abu
47. Rep. Dan Fernandez
48. Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
49. Rep. Henry Oaminal
50. Rep. Pablo John Garcia
51. Rep. Deogracias ‘DV’ Savellano
52. Rep. F. Datol (Rep. M. Romero)
53. Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
54. Rep. Jesus Crispin Remulla
55. Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
56. Rep. Cristal Bagatsing
57. Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc
58. Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
59. Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
60. Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
61. Rep. A. Calixto (Rep. J. Lacson-Noel)
62. Rep. Wilter Palma II
63. Rep. Ma. Theresa Collantes
64. Rep. Ria Christina Fariñas
65. Rep. Camille Villar
66. Rep. Roger G. Mercado
67. Rep. Sharee Ann Tan
68. Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano
69. Rep. Bayani Fernando
70. Rep. Jose Singson Jr.

These 70 representatives agreed that ABS-CBN failed to refute the main allegations lodged against the network like the issue on Gabby Lopez’s citizenship, the offering of PDRs by ABS-CBN holdings to foreign investors, the issue on TV Plus and KBO, issues on tax evasion and abusive labor practices.

Netizens then took to social media to share their anger over their decision.

Meanwhile, aside from the 70 who voted against ABS-CBN, 2 decided to inhibit for their own reasons. However, what’s notable is that these two were former ABS-CBN workers who are expected to support the embattled network.

In their statements, QC Rep. Alfred Vargas and Antique Rep. Loren Legarda said their previous work engagement with ABS-CBN would be tantamount to conflict of interest thus they decided not to participate in the voting.

Their decision meanwhile didn’t sit well with the netizens slamming their cowardice. Netizens called out Vargas, Legarda, Yul Servo, and Dan Fernandez who all effectively denied ABS-CBN of its franchise.


4 Pings & Trackbacks

  1. Pingback:

  2. Pingback:

  3. Pingback:

  4. Pingback:



Jennylyn Mercado calls out those rejoicing in denial of ABS-CBN franchise

Supporting network stability and jointly building a better and sustainable future