in , , ,

P-Pop group SB19 win big at 2020 RAWR Awards

Imitation may be the biggest form of flattery, but SB19 has passed that hurdle.

It’s no secret that K-pop has invaded the consciousness of nearly every Filipino. Between cosplayers portraying Korean drama characters and local reproductions of hist K-drama programs, we now have performing groups who have trained under some of the K-pop industry’s best.

One such group is SB19. They’re the first Pinoy Pop or P-Pop boy group trained under the Korean idol system to debut in the Philippines. The name comes from the company they trained under—ShowBT—and the difference between the country codes of Korea and the Philippines.

SB19’s members, however, gave their group name an even better meaning: Sound Break. Josh, Justin, Ken, Sejun, and Stell may not be household names yet, but they are getting there thanks to their adoring fans—and it shows.

At this year’s RAWR Awards, SB19 bagged four awards—two in the CUB categories, a LION award, and a PRIDE award.

SB19’s fandom, A’TIN—one of the more wholesome fandoms on social media—has no doubt contributed to this, allowing the boys to bring home the trophies for Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Favorite Performer, and Favorite Group.

Their song, Alab, debuted at number 1 on the Billboard LyricFind global chart, the group’s first single to hit the Billboard charts. They’ve also hit the Social 50 chart, landing at number 3 behind two of the biggest names in today’s music industry: BTS and EXO.

A’TIN’s efforts have paid off, of course, as we also give them the Fanclub of the Year plum for 2020.

As SB19 continues to reach for the skies, let’s cheer them on and help raise the bar for other aspiring P-pop idols along the way.

Congrats, SB19!

Here’s the full list of winners for the 2020 RAWR Awards:


Beshie ng Taon – Fumiya Sankai

Bibo of the Year – Xia Vigor

Favorite Bida – Elijah Canlas

Favorite Kontrabida – Aiko Melendez

Breakthrough Artist of the Year – SB19

Favorite Newbie – DJ Loonyo

Digital Series of the Year – Gameboys, the Series

Bet na Bet na Teleserye – Love Thy Woman

Song of the Year – Alab by SB19

Movie ng Taon – Ghost of the Past


Actor of the Year – Alden Richards

Actress of the Year – Maine Mendoza

Pak na Pak na Comedian – Vice Ganda

Digital Influencer of the Year – Gandang Kara

Male News Personality of the Year – Atom Araullo

Female News Personality of the Year – Jessica Soho

Love Team of the Year – KyCine

BL Tandem of the Year – Ian Pangilinan and Paolo Pangilinan

Favorite performer – SB19

Favorite Radio DJ – Papa Jackson

Favorite TV Host – Toni Gonzaga


Fanclub of the year – A’TIN

Favorite group – SB19

Radio Station of the Year – Energy FM

TV Station of the Year – ABS–CBN


Trending Show of the Year – It’s Showtime

Most Admired Celebrities – Angel Locsin, Dingdong Dantes

Brandspeak – realme

PRs of the Year – Stratworks, M2Comms, Ripple 8

PR Persons of the Year – Julius Macalagay, Ian Urrutia

Elijah Canlas brings home the bacon as Favorite Bida at 2020 RAWR Awards

Recreate the Holidays Right At Home Best With Globe At Home Unli Plans