in , ,

Celebrity winners, losers in 2019 elections

  • Celebrity candidates in the 2019 elections hopefully waited for the results
  • Some were declared winners, such as Vico Sotto
  • Richard Yap was among the defeated candidates

After the 2019 election day, May 13, most celebrity candidates were hopefully waiting for the results.

Among the hopeful celebrities are mayoralty candidates Jeremy Marquez in Parañaque City and Roderick Paulate in Quezon City – with the same quote in their mind: “Thy will be done.”

Meanwhile,1st District Councilor candidate of Parañaque City, Rochelle Barrameda accused a fellow candidate for vote buying.

In contrast, Quezon City District V House Representative reelectionist Alfred Vargas experienced a peaceful and orderly election.

Lumabas at bumoto po tayo! Mabuhay ang demokrasya ng Republika ng Pilipinas,” exclaimed Vilma Santos Recto for the 2019 elections.

Along with her husband Senator Ralph Recto and sons Ryan Christian and Luis Manzano, they voted for candidates in Lipa City. Surprisingly Luis Manzano did not vote for his father, Edu Manzano.

In a competition, there will always be a winner and a loser. Some celebrities relished their victories while some were saddened by their defeat.

Among the near victorious stars were Jestoni Alarcon, as he is poised to win with his electoral bid as provincial board member of Rizal province.
Alarcon takes the lead with 41 000 votes, with 97.02 percent of election returns (partial and unofficial) tallied as of 9:45 a.m., May 14.

Gaining popularity from fellow millennials, Vico Sotto, son of Vic Sotto, was hailed a winner with full support for his mayoral bid in Pasig City.
Vico Sotto got 203,216 while his opponent Bobby Eusebio got 117,742 votes, with 97.07% election results this morning.

Richard Gomez, under the PDP-Laban banner, is set to retain his seat as Ormoc City Mayor with 77,573 votes as of 7:40 a.m. Tuesday, with 99.49 percent of election returns tallied, while his opponent, Eric Codilla of Lakas, got 29,795 votes.

His wife, Lucy Torres-Gomez under the PDP Laban banner, celebrated the same victory with 175,191 votes as of 2:19 a.m. against Winnie Codilla’s 50,255 votes, running as 4th District representative of Leyte.

Lani Mercado is set to retain her as Bacoor, Cavite mayor dominating over Jose Francisco’s votes of 18,903 with her 141,848 votes as of 8:12 a.m. today, from 361 of the total 361 clustered precincts.

On the opposite side, the defeated celebrity candidates were saddened by the results.

ER Ejercito, re-electionist governor of Laguna, was beaten by incumbent governor, Ramil Hernandez.

His son, Jet Ejercito also shared the same fate losing for his mayoral bid in Pagsanjan, Laguna.

Gary Estrada running as vice mayor for Cainta, Rizal was also defeated along with Janella Estrada who was defeated by Francis Zamora in the  San Juan City mayoral race.

Roderick Paulate still extends his gratitude, in spite being defeated.

Sa lahat ng sumuporta at nagmahal. Taos puso akong nagpapasalamat. Hindi man tayo nanalo marahil may plano ang Dios.

Hindi man ako ganun kakumbinsido sa botong nakuha ko (108,000+) dahil ito rin halos ang nakuha kong boto noong 2016 sa aming distrito 2 lang sa aking pagiging konsehal…ganun po talaga ang politika,” Paulate said.

Edu Manzano was also defeated by re-electionist Zamora who had 35,386 votes, while Manzano had 23,627, in running as congressman.

Richard Yap was disappointed in his defeat for Cebu City 1st district representative race. Based on the unofficial, partial results as of 3:20 a.m. Tuesday, Yap landed second with 81,167 votes, behind Del Mar, with 134,816 votes.

Toni and Alex Gonzaga’s dad, Carlito “Bonoy” Gonzaga with 38,301, trailed Joric Gacula (NP), having 55,545 votes, from the unofficial results released as 9:16 a.m. Tuesday for Taytay’s mayoral race.

Gary Estrada was headed for defeat for Cainta mayoralty race. With 90.14 percent of election returns (partial and unofficial) from Cainta already tallied as of 8:42 a.m., Estrada was more than 40,000 votes behind NPC’s Ace Servillon 73 709 votes.

Jhong Hilario is also leading the count for councilors in the first district of Makati City.

Angelica Jones also stayed as provincial board member in the first district of Laguna.


Gino Santos and rumored BF fill the air with love

Angel Locsin defends Neri Colmenares from alleged red-tagging