in ,

PhilPop 2018 reveals Top 30 Finalists

  • PhilPop Foundation advocates to produce diverse music and genre.
  • The Top 30 finalists were required to go through a coaching camp spearheaded by Maestro Ryan Cayabyab.
  • Top 10 entries will be showcased to the public at the PhilPop Festival Finals Night on November 30.

PhilPop Foundation, a non-profit organization led by Chairman Manny V. Pangilinan, announced the Top 30 semifinalists to this year’s music festival. The theme is ‘Music Powered by Pinoys’.

Coming from a year-long and nationwide songwriting boot camps in 2017, the foundation adopted a grassroots approach to discover and develop the most talented songwriters in the country, and prepared them for the 2018 songwriting festival.

Numerous aspiring composers across the country submitted song entries to join PhilPop. The songs were screened by over 100 judges–composed of established figures in the music industry, music educators, youth groups, college students, religious communities and advertising executives.

As a result, the entries were narrowed from a thousand down to 30.

The foundation as well as the judges made sure that this year’s semifinalists are as diverse as their origins and music genres. PhilPop strongly encourages for song entries written in the composer’s mother tongue, and the results were exactly that. Some of the entries in the Top 30 were written in Hiligaynon, Bisaya, and other local languages.

The foundation encourages more songwriters outside Luzon and the greater Metro Manila to join the campaign.

The semifinalists were also required to undergo an intensive coaching camp on July 23- 24 in Tagaytay City, spearheaded by Maestro Ryan Cayabyab, PhilPop Coaching Camp Master and foundation board members.

Cayabyab firmly believes that education is the key for the country’s music industry to move forward, “The next generation should be better than us hence, the best way to do this is to teach them everything we know at every instance possible.”

From the Top 30 compositions, only 10 will make it to the final round.

The 10 entries will be showcased to the public at the PhilPop Festival Finals Night on November 30 to be held at Capitol Commons, Pasig City.

The 30 Semifinalists are:

  1. AEIOU – Kenneth John Pores (General Trias, Cavite)
  2. Ako, Ako – Jeriko Buenafe (Taguig, NCR)
  3. Away Wa’y Buwagay – Eamarie Gilayo and Jovit Leonerio (Davao City, Davao Del Sur)
  4. Bumbero – Michael Llave (Quezon City, NCR)
  5. Di Ko Man – Ferdinand Aragon (Cebu City, Cebu)
  6. Ikaw Ang Aking Pag-ibig – Mark Jay Felipe (Guimba, Nueva Ecija)
  7. Isang Gabing Pagibig – Carlo Angelo David (Quezon City, NCR)
  8. Kariton – Philip Arvin Jarilla (Antipolo, Rizal)
  9. Kelan Kaya? – Sarah Bulahan (Mandaluyong City, NCR)
  10. KilabI – Karlo Frederico Zabala (Valenzuela City, NCR)
  11. Korde Kodigo – Jeremy Sarmiento (Davao City, Davao Del Sur)
  12. Laon Ako – Elmar Jan Bolano and Donel Transporto (Tigbauan, Iloilo)
  13. LDR (Layong ‘Di Ramdam) – Russ Narcies Cabico (Quezon City, NCR)
  14. LGBT (Laging Ganito Ba Tayo?) – Kyle Pulido (Davao City, Davao Del Sur)
  15. Lilipad – Agatha Morallos and Melvin Joseph Morallos (Baguio City, Benguet)
  16. Loco De Amor! – Edgardo Miraflor, Jr. (Bacolod City, Negros Occidental)
  17. Mahirap Magselos – Paul Hildawa (Makati City, NCR)
  18. Makisabay – Carlo Angelo David (Quezon City, NCR)
  19. Malilimutan Din Kita – Marvin Blue Corpuz (Koronadal, South Cotabato)
  20. MMRA – Oliver Narag (Valenzuela City, NCR)
  21. Nanay Tatay – Teodoro Festejo III (Davao City, Davao Del Sur)
  22. Oka – Michael Angelo Aplacador (Pateros, NCR)
  23. Perfectly Imperfect Human – Barry Villacarillo (Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu)
  24. Pilipit (Paano Sasabihing Mahal Kita) – Sean Gabriel Cedro and John Ray Reodique (Antipolo City, Rizal)
  25. Promise Sorry Note – Michael Angelo Aplacador (Pateros, NCR)
  26. Pwede – Agatha Morallos and Melvin Joseph Morallos (Baguio City, Benguet)
  27. Tama Na – Michael Rodriguez and Jeanne Columbine Rodriguez (Makati City, NCR)
  28. Unang Adlaw Nga Wala Ka – Therese Marie Villarante and Henrick James Pestano (Talisay City, Cebu)
  29. Utang – Ignacio Dennis Roxas (Malolos, Bulacan)
  30. Yun Tayo – Donnalyn Onilongo (Angono, Rizal)

Viva Records, PhilPop 2018’s official record label partner will the Top 30 entries.

The reveal is just in time as the local music industry is celebrating the Linggo ng Musikang Pilipino (LMP). As a kickoff event of LMP2018, PhilPop stays true to its mission—to discover original songs and foster appreciation for these original compositions that truly reflect Filipino culture and identity.

PhilPop is an initiative of the MVP Group of Companies, Mid Atlantic Foundation for Asian Artists, Inc. (MAFFAA, Inc.), and NYXSYS Philippines.


Anne Curtis appeals to senators who oppose LGBTQIA+ Anti-Discrimination bill

Donnalyn Bartolome asks Viva to shed light on the film “Jacqueline Comes Home” controversy