in ,

‘Mindanao’ big winner at 2019 MMFF awards night

Even before the film premiered at the MMFF, Judy Ann Santos’s performance in “Mindanao” had already earned her recognition as Best Actress at the Cairo International Film Festival.

Mindanao, the story of a Muslim mother who cares for a cancer-stricken daughter while waiting for her soldier husband to return from deployment, was the big winner at the 2019 Metro Manila Film Festival’s (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal that took place at the New Frontier Theater in Cubao, Quezon City on Friday night, December 27.

The film emerged from this year’s MMFF Awards Night with the lion’s share of the honors, winning the Best Picture prize, along with the Best Actress for Judy Ann Santos, Best Actor for Allen Dizon, and Best Director for Brillante Mendoza.

Even before the film premiered at the MMFF, Judy Ann’s performance in Mindanao had already earned her a Best Actress award at the Cairo International Film Festival.

Below is a full rundown of all the 2019 MMFF awards night winners:

Best Picture 1st: Mindanao
2nd: Write About Love
3rd: Sunod

Best Actress: Judy Ann Santos, Mindanao

Best Actor: Allen Dizon, Mindanao

Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, Mindanao

Best Supporting Actress: Yeng Constantino, Write About Love

Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon, Write About Love

Best Child Performer: Yuna Tangog, Mindanao

Best Screenplay: Write About Love

Best Editing: Write About Love

Best Cinematography: Sunod

Best Production Design: Sunod

Best Visual Effects: Mindanao

Best Sound Design: Mindanao

Best Musical Score: Write About Love

Best Original Theme Song: Write About Love

Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Mindanao

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: Mindanao

Male Star of the Night: Aga Muhlach

Female Star of the Night: Carmina Villaroel

Best Ensemble: Culion

Special Jury Prize: Write About Love

Best Float Award: Mindanao

Gender Sensitivity Award: Mindanao

Best Short Film: Pamana ni Lola, Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Sta. Mesa

Jury Prize Student Short Film: Bronze, Silver, Gold at Anting-anting, De La Salle University – Integrated School Manila

The MMFF Hall of Fame Awards was also held as part of the larger Gabi ng Parangal.

This was to recognize past award recipients, who have been awarded three or more times in the same category in the past editions of the Gabi ng Parangal.

Hall of Fame Awards:

Best Sound Engineer
– Ditoy Aguila
– Michael Idioma
– Rolly Ruta

Best Musical Score
– Dionisio Buencamino
– Von De Guzman
– Jaime Fabregas
– Jessie Lasaten

Best Editing
– Vito Cajili
– Manet Dayrit
– Jess Navarro
– Edgardo Vinarao

Best Visual Effects
– Roadrunner Network Inc.

Best Art Director
– Rodel Cruz
– Joey Luna

Best Cinematography
– Rudy Lacap
– Carlo Mendoza
– Romy Vitug
– Lee Meily

Best Director
– Marilou Diaz-Abaya
– Joel Lamangan
– Jose Javier Reyes

Best Supporting Actress
– Eugene Domingo
– Cherie Gil

Best Actor
– Anthony Alonzo
– Christopher de Leon
– Cesar Montano

Best Actress
– Nora Aunor
– Amy Austria
– Vilma Santos-Recto
– Maricel Soriano

This year’s MMFF magic eight official entries include Vice Ganda and Anne Curtis’ The Mall, The Merrier; Coco Martin’s 3pol Trobol: Huli Ka Balbon; Aga Muhlach’s Miracle In Cell No. 7; and Vic Sotto and Maine Mendoza’s Mission Unstapabol’: The Don Identity.

Also running in the movie theaters are Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon’s Mindanao; Carmina Villarroel and Mylene Dizon’s Sunod; Miles Ocampo and Rocco Nacino’s Write About Love; and Iza Calzado, Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Meryll Soriano’s Culion.

The MMFF nationwide screening runs from December 25 until January 7, 2020.


‘Anak ni Biday vs Anak ni Waray’ to replace ‘One of the Baes?’

Jollibee surprises holiday commuters with free Chickenjoy during their ride home!